Learn, Lead, Succeed!

PTE Advanced Learning (PTEAL) Task Force

The Idaho Division of Professional-Technical Education (IDPTE) has announced the formation of a task force to analyze the current state of Tech Prep, the advanced learning opportunity for secondary professional-technical students. This PTE Advanced Learning (PTEAL) Task Force will be co-chaired by Susan Johnson, Curriculum Coordinator for IDPTE and Darrell Buffaloe, a long-time advocate for professional-technical education, former Vice President at Idaho State University, and Department Chair at the College of Southern Idaho.

The task force membership was solicited from a cross section of stakeholders including teachers, superintendents, student services personnel, technical college deans, Office of the State Board of Education, and industry. Members that have agreed to serve are:

Mr. Darrell Buffaloe, Chair, Retired Postsecondary Administrator
Mr. Jay Hummel, Superintendent, Kuna Joint District #3
Mr. Wayne Rush, Superintendent, Emmett School District #221
Dr. Rob Lohrmeyer, Dean, Lewis-Clark State College
Mr. Doug Anderson, Department Chair, North Idaho College
Mr. Steve Rayburn, Program Head, College of Western Idaho
Ms. Karrie Hornbacher, Tech Prep Coordinator, College of Southern Idaho
Ms. Suzanne Felt, Registrar, Eastern Idaho Technical College
Ms. Selena Grace, Chief Academic Officer, Office of the State Board of Education
Ms. Angela Robinson, Vice President, Human Relations, Western States Caterpillar
Ms. Laurel Grant, Certified Career Development Facilitator, Pocatello/Chubbuck School District #25

Meetings will commence in September 2012 and the committee’s work is expected to conclude by December 2012.

Tech Prep - PTE Advanced Learning Task Force Final Report June 2013